1 Corinthians 13


Scripture for the day:  1 Corinthians 13:4-7 “Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.”

We are supposed to memorize scripture so that we can call on it when the need arises.  Well, I need this one a lot.

Who would ever think to put “suffers long” and “is kind” together?  In my version, those are separated by miles.

Most days I can handle the “does not envy” part at least on the outside.  My thoughts are often a different matter.

Does not parade itself and is not puffed up?  But, hey, I did this really cool thing and everyone needs to know about it!  Not what this Scripture says.

Don’t be rude!  Well, I am usually kind in public, but my poor spouse.  I am often rude to him, sometimes even before breakfast.  No need to go further into the day because it doesn’t get better.

For every one of these, I have an excuse or a comeback.  I can add a “but” or “unless” or “only if” to most of these and be OK.  Not according to the Word of God.

And so I am going to think of these words today because I know them by heart.  I do not need to open my Bible on this one.  The Holy Spirit is going to be very busy in my life today.

Song for the day:  “Breathe on Me, Breath of God”

“Breathe on me, breath of God, fill me with life anew, that I may love what Thou dost love, and do what Thou wouldst do.”

 

Comments are closed.

