A Job To Do


Scripture for the day:  2 Timothy 3:16-17 “All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

I love having work to do, a passion, a purpose.  For years, Vacation Bible School was my passion.  I loved the planning, and I was so excited when the big day finally arrived.  It was fun to see who God would send, how He would use the workers, and how He would change lives.  I found that my life was always changed in the process.  One year, I no longer felt God calling me to accept this task.  It was very hard for me to give it up, and I struggled with the decision.

For several years after that, I didn’t have a passion.  I kept asking God for a job, a purpose, a place to serve.  A new passion came from the most unlikely place:  a cancer diagnosis.  It was through that trial that God gave me a new passion, a new purpose, a new direction.

I am loving my new purpose, but I am still incomplete.  God isn’t finished with me yet, and so I wait.  I will continue to do the things for which I am called, but He may have other plans down the road.  For now I will try to complete these tasks to the best of my ability, to be faithful in the little things but be open to new possibilities.  For with God, all things are possible (Matthew 19:26).  I am a new creature in Christ, and all things have become new! (2 Corinthians 5:17) I praise Him for His faithfulness to me!

Song for the day:  “In Loving-Kindness Jesus Came”

“Now on a higher plane I dwell, and with my soul I know ‘tis well; yet how or why I cannot tell He should have lifted me.  From sinking sand He lifted me, with tender hand He lifted me, from shades of night to plains of light, O praise His name, He lifted me!”

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Correna
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 10:42:27

    A job to do! Sometmes I think God has given me too many jobs to do, then I think if I didn’t have them, what would I do? (I have some health issures as well and wonder how long I can do what I am doing) Well, I am learning that in whatever state I am to be content. Not an easy task, but one that must be done. Once again I am inspired by your words to keep going. Thank you

  2. chemocurls
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 10:46:05

    Our God is so accommodating! I am no longer able to do what I did years ago, but He has found new ways to use me. I thank Him for that. No easy chair for me. There is much to do for the King. May God bless your day, Correna

