Sowing Seeds


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 13:23 ‘“But he who received seed on the good ground is he who hears the word and understands it, who indeed bears fruit and produces: some a hundredfold, some sixty, some thirty.’”

I have always loved to garden.  My mother gave me a plot of ground and a packet of nasturtium seeds when I was a little girl.  I was hooked from the first tiny seedling.  Gardening has been a passion of mine, a joy, a labor of love, but that is changing.  It is harder for me physically, and my neighbors (the deer, bugs, armadillos, raccoons) are not being kind.  They are eating, uprooting, destroying faster than I can repair.  I think God is trying to tell me something.  I think He is wanting me to plant a different kind of seed.

I have been writing this little praise devotional for a few years now.  Many have said they are encouraged by these little blurbs, and I think God may be closing a door and opening another one.  I have a new ministry with cancer patients, and I hope my notebooks make a difference in lives.  God’s fingerprints are all over my HopeBooks.  I pray that the scriptures and  poems may help encourage a wounded soul.

Maybe God wants me to plant a different kind of seed.  Maybe He wants me to sow the Word in hearts instead of planting seeds in my garden soil.  If that is the case, may I be obedient to His call.

Song for the day:  “Lead Me to Some Soul Today”

“Lead me to some soul today, O teach me, Lord, just what to say; friends of mine are lost in sin, and cannot find their way.  Few there are who seem to care, and few there are who pray; melt my heart and fill my life, give me one soul today.”

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Correna
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:10:19

    What an absolute beautiful willingness you have to your Saviour!!! I pray God blesses you with your seeds of Hopebooks that you will be overflowing with flowers of souls for heaven, and may He send you flowers for your table everyday too. You are such a blessing and it is easy to see your love for Jesus and the hope you show others is so evident even in these posts. God bless you dear sister.

  2. chemocurls
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:17:16

    Thank you, Correna! It is so nice to have work to do, souls to save, hearts to touch. Only God thinks I am worthy to be used. The world things I am too old to have much value. I’m grateful for the Master’s touch in my life. God bless you and keep you. Connie

  3. Correna
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:22:35

    The world would be wrong!!! But thank God, He has no age limits for anything!!! Someday I will meet you on the streets of glory where I am sure there will be gardens and gardens of flowers just for you and I will be so glad to finally meet you face to face!!! You are a blessing. Thanks for responding to my comment and you have a great day.

  4. chemocurls
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:25:13

    Thanks, Correna. You, too!

  5. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 10:42:37

    You are an incredibly strong woman and although I’d never wish cancer on anyone, God knew you could endure it.

    We never know why some things happen in life but I urge you to complete that devotional book, for it would be an uplifting and inspirational one for those who are going through challenging times. (It could be handed out at hospitals.) You would be a beacon of light for them and God will be sooooo pleased with you when you arrive before Him in sixty years or so! Blessings to you my dear friend and my prayers are always with you.

  6. chemocurls
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 12:36:03

    Thanks so much, Ellie. God has opened a door of opportunity. I will be giving my HopeBooks to newly-diagnosed cancer patients when they take the chemo class. The oncologist has been very supportive and encouraging. I had the privilege of giving one of my books to a breast cancer patient who had just finished treatment. She was feeling so depressed and discouraged. I sat at her feet, held her hand and just listened. I remember so well the feeling that life would never be good again. It was nice to comfort her and give her a glimmer of hope. God is so good! May He bless your day. You are a blessing to me, Ellie!

  7. Howard Brecheisen
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 11:28:26

    Hi Connie!  Just got back in town and enjoying the BLESSINGS from your devotions, again.  I am excited about your “NEW” kind of seed planting, which I know is from the Lord!  He is using you to not only encourage people, but also to lead them into a Born-Again relationship with Jesus.  How precious!  Big hugs, Joyce

    ________________________________

  8. chemocurls
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 19:04:37

    Thanks, Joyce. Big hugs back to you! Glad you got back safely. God bless. Love, Connie

