Habits


Scripture for the day:  2 Timothy 3:16-17 “All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives.  It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right.  God uses it to prepare and equip His people to do every good work.”

I am a creature of habit.  I wake about the same time every day, and I get sleepy at about the same time every night.  I eat three meals a day at about the same time, and I snack in between meals.  I never forget to eat.  My tummy growls to remind me that I need food!  It is a priority.

I make lists of things I need to do, and I depend on those lists to keep my life running smoothly.  I spent some time earlier this week planning menus and making lists of what I need to do, when I need to do it.  The week is no longer a jumbled mess of hours and minutes, and it pleases me to have it organized.

What I fail to do some days is feast on the Word of God.  I find that if I don’t spend time alone with God before I start my day I may not do it at all.  My tummy doesn’t growl, but my day doesn’t go as well.  It is also easier to drift away from God and from His blessings.  I count on my relationship with Him.  It is the sweet oil that keeps friction at bay.

I pray today that I will experience a deep hunger and thirst for God’s Word.  May I make time each morning to partake of His Bread of Life.  May my soul growl and groan within me if I do not.

Song for the day:  “Tell Me the Story of Jesus”

. . . write on my heart every word.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Howard Brecheisen
    Feb 22, 2013 @ 10:19:58

    Thanks Connie!  It is now 10:15 a.m. and I haven’t had my devotions yet!  Although I did have a prayer time before I got out of bed…but I need to get to my sweet time with “Jesus Calling” and reading my Bible and “listening” to what God is saying to me today!  My day is unorganized so far!  We are trying to decide when we can safely travel to Gardner, KS to see family and attend my sister’s 80th birthday party, which is still scheduled for Sun. afternoon in Olathe.  We wanted to leave today, but…  We are seeking God’s wisdom!  Love and appreciate you, dear friend in Christ!  Have a happy day!  Joyce

    ________________________________

  2. chemocurls
    Feb 22, 2013 @ 12:02:23

    Have a safe trip, Joyce. Will pray for traveling mercies! God bless, my special friend. Love, Connie.

  3. Correna
    Feb 22, 2013 @ 19:38:53

    I want you to know that I look forward to your posts everyday usually right after my devotions because lately it seems to add to what I had devotions about. The songs are always a wonderful quiet reminder to take time to praise Him. God is good and always knows what we need, and I need your posts. You inspire me and that is why I have nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award. Please stop here to copy your award and get the details. http://correnadotme.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/yay-i-won-another-award/ Thanks, have a great day!

