Glory


Scripture for the day: Proverbs 31:28 “Her children rise up and call her blessed …”

  Ex 20:12 “Honor your father and mother …”

     Deut 5:16 “Honor your father and your mother …”

I am thinking of my 97-year-old mother-in-law today.  She is in a nursing home, and it is very sad to visit her.  She is almost blind, deaf and confined to a recliner.  She still knows us, and she is always glad to see us.  Conversing is hard because her short-term memory is gone.  Our “conversations” are circular, with her asking the same questions over and over.  But she smiles at us.  She is glad to see us even if she won’t remember that we were there.

Lillie loves the Lord.  She read her Bible faithfully until her eyesight became so bad she couldn’t see the words.  She even used a magnifying glass to read scripture for as long as she could.  I imagine she knows some scripture by heart, and I pray it comforts her.  In this age that is so youth-oriented, it is nice to pause and honor an elder.

I pray God’s special blessing on Lillie today.  May she have peace that passes understanding and may the blessed assurance that she belongs to Him comfort her.  Being with her is such a blessing, and I thank God for the gift she is to our family.

Song for the day:  “O That Will Be Glory”

My prayer for Lillie today is that she is resting in all that God has promised her.  When the aches and pains of this life seem too much, I pray that she will remember Glory!

 

Comments are closed.

