Moving Day


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 6:19-21  “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

It’s impossible to turn on the TV or read the newspaper without finding out about another burglary, home invasion, etc.  Sometimes it is just material things that are taken, but more often than not the homeowner was beaten or even killed, all because someone wants our “stuff”.

I enjoy my comfortable home, and I appreciate all the “stuff” that makes it mine.  Most of what I value belonged to my grandmother, my mother, a favorite aunt.  It is the memory of them that is precious.  The trinket is just a reminder of the relationship.  However, if it was all taken from me, I would be OK.

I am more concerned about my heavenly home.  I am trying to live my life so that building materials are being accumulated in my name.  I want a mansion in glory!  I am looking forward to all that is mine to claim in the name of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!

Song for the day:  “O That Will Be Glory”

Moving into that heavenly home, being able to see Jesus’ face, no more fears or doubts . . . that will be glory.  That is the treasure I am counting on and that is where my heart is.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 16:23:05

    Yeah we have a lot of memory items too from living in Europe that mean a lot to us and a lifetime of travelling. It’s the only thing I’d miss but I wonder how our mansion in heaven will be furnished and will our dogs greet us at the door? 🙂 Thanks for the post!

  2. chemocurls
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 16:38:08

    I would love for my dogs to greet me at the door, Ellie! We’ve loved and lost so many! How great to have those kisses again and the love pouring out of those big, brown eyes. That would be heaven for me! Furnishings? I’m thinking cozy and comfortable! Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Trackback: Blog Review #2 « Correna's Thoughts
