Thomas


Scripture for the day:  John 20:26-29  “And after eight days His disciples were again inside, and Thomas with them.  Jesus came, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst, and said, “Peace to you!”  Then He said to Thomas, “Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your finger here, and put it into My side.  Do not be unbelieving, but believing.  And Thomas answered and said to Him, “My Lord and my God!”  Jesus said to him, “Thomas, because you have seen Me, you have believed.  Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

I have been a Thomas.  I have questioned Jesus, doubted Him, left Him.  My father was killed in a car accident when I was 23.  I was so mad at God!  I questioned Him, doubted Him and walked away when He didn’t answer me.  Right then!  I wouldn’t wait.  I just left. Biggest mistake of my life, but I came back, crawled back, actually, humbled and defeated.

He was waiting for me, arms outstretched, welcoming me home.  I have never doubted again.  He is my Lord and my God.  Without Him, I am nothing.  I have never seen the scars but I believe.  I love Him, praise Him, honor Him, worship Him.  His scars saved me, and I am so thankful!

Song for the day:  “Nail Scarred Hand”

I am so grateful for that nail-scarred hand to lead me, guide me, comfort me.  May I never forget the price that was paid for me on the cross and may my life reflect the nail-scarred hand I hold.

 

