My Rainy Day


It’s raining today.  Glorious slow, gentle raindrops falling on our parched ground.  My yard is full of wildlife!  Birds fly from one feeder to another, squirrels climb, jump and play, deer graze contentedly.  Everything seems to be enjoying the rainy day.  It is peaceful.  It is quiet.  Undisturbed.  The wildlife in my yard represent many different species.  Very few are related.  They are not  “friends” and yet they are peaceful.  If they get too close to each other, one simply leaves.  No ugliness.  No threatening gestures.  No violence.  Just quiet.  Gentleness.

photo-34

I have music playing softly in the background, and I am as peaceful as my surroundings.  If I turned on the news, however, it would be a different story.  Violence, mayhem, and hate fill the airwaves.  I choose to ignore that world today and stay in my little world of serenity and calm.

Why do we choose to make violence a part of our world?  Why are we so unyielding, so opposed to  another human being who looks or thinks differently from us?  Why do we feel the need to carry guns everywhere to defend ourselves?  I find it all very upsetting.

When I was a child, we never locked our doors.  We didn’t have much and yet we didn’t live in constant fear of losing what we had.  My parents would have given anything they owned to someone in need, and they did on more than one occasion.  I had a very sheltered, trusting childhood.  Violence was not a part of my world.

Only once did someone steal from us, and by then I was a young adult.  The doors were locked.  They came in any way.  They took what they wanted and left.  I felt violated, afraid, and it shattered my feeling of innocence and trust.

1 Corinthians 13:7 says:  “Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.”   I think we have given up on each other.  Lost faith, hope.  Endurance?  No way.

What if we all tried a little harder today.  Loved a little bit more.  Kept the faith with one another and endured . . . even celebrated . . . our differences.  I think our world would be a much better place.  What if we tried to love our neighbor as ourselves?  Maybe our world could be as peaceful as the one outside my window.

It’s just a thought.




1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Madryt
    Feb 10, 2013 @ 07:50:36

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

