Fear of the Lord


Scripture for the day:  Ps 111:10 “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom.”

There are two kinds of wisdom in the world.  One is of God and it produces good:  peace, mercy, kindheartedness.  The second kind of wisdom is of the world and it produces alienation from God and man.

There is so much information available to us today, but too much of it is of the world.  You can “google” any topic and find answers.  But our world is struggling now more than ever.  There is strife and division, neighbors fighting neighbors, hunger, famine, fear . . . everything but what we need.  We need to return to our fear of the Lord!  His judgment is at hand.  We need to get back to the basics found in the Bible and learn to love our neighbor as ourselves.  We need God’s wisdom more than ever.  However, too many are turning to the wisdom of the world and it will only lead to destruction.

I pray that we will turn back to God as individuals and as a nation.  Our only peace, our only hope, lies with Him.

Song for the day:  “My Faith Looks Up to Thee”

This song takes me back to my childhood and the innocent faith I had then.

The second verse says:

“May Thy rich grace impart strength to my fainting heart, my zeal inspire;

As though hast died for me, O may my love to Thee, pure warm and changeless be, a living fire!”

It is hard not to grow weary in these troubling times, but I pray that God will ignite a fire in me and a zeal for Him and that His wisdom will fill me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce Brecheisen
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 14:43:04

    Right on Connie! Wonderful words of Godly wisdom. Love you!

  2. Terrie van Baarsel
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 19:40:37

    I think the more we gaze at the beauty of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, the less tempted we will be to get sucked in by the world.

    Blessings to you!

  3. chemocurls
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 10:17:28

    I couldn’t agree more, Terrie. It is a beautiful place to live. May God bless your day. Connie

