Shine Your Light


Scripture for the day: Matthew 5:14-16 “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Our lives are filled with many dark corners and scary alleyways. Darkness is prevalent, and it is never comforting. But just the glow from a match being lit can change the darkness, make it less foreboding and scary. Because of Christ, our lives are much more than the glow from a match! We can light up the most fearsome, desolate place with our witness! We bring hope and salvation to a dark and dying world.

So today let’s light up our world! Smile! Be happy! Share the Light of the World! Jesus is alive and His light is shining through you. How wonderful is that? How exciting! Makes me want to go find a dark corner and brighten it with my light. Off I go!

Song for the day: “He Keeps Me Singing”

A little song couldn’t hurt while I’m shining my light in dark corners. This one seems to work . . . makes me happy . . . reminds me of my mother who sang it as she worked. “Jesus, Jesus, Jesus, Sweetest name I know Fills my ev’ry longing, keeps me singing as I go.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Howard Brecheisen
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 20:06:13

    Love it!!!  Hide our light under a bushel – NO!  I’m gonna let it shine!  Love, Joyce

    ________________________________

  2. chemocurls
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 20:30:03

    Amen, Joyce. Reminds me of a VBS song! Off we go, shining all the way. Hugs, Connie

