If You Love Me . . .


Scripture for the day:  John 14:15 “If you love Me, keep My commandments. 

 If you love me . . . words to ponder for a moment.

I have heard those words often in my life.  Sometimes they are used almost like a weapon, and I must take up a shield to defend against them.  They are powerful words and they carry with them an obligation to act.  If I love God, I am to serve Him, daily.  Not when I feel like it or have time, but I am to make it a priority.  Those words also call me to deny self and serve others.

I was an only child, and my parents were my whole world.  I remember the strong desire I had to please them.  If they were displeased, my life fell apart, and so I tried to please them most of the time.  If I could discern their will, I tried to do what they wanted or expected of me.  I did that out of love, complete devotion, not because of obligation.

That is what God wants, expects from me.  I am to keep His commandments out of a childlike love for Him.  I am to abandon my wants and focus on His will for my life.  I’ve tried it.  It works.  It is not a burden but a joy, and it is a beautiful way to live.

Song for the day:  “Out of My Bondage, Sorrow, and Night”

I come to Him today with childlike love, out of my bleakness into His light.  I am so blessed to belong to Him.  I love Him and will serve Him humbly today.

 

Comments are closed.

