Planks


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 7:3-5 “And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye?  Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove the speck from your eye’; and look, a plank is in your own eye?  Hypocrite!  First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

Planks.  Pride, conceit, self-deception, arrogance, iniquity, self-confidence are all within me, but I fail to see them.  They are very apparent in my neighbor, my friend, my family members, however.  I can see those things in others quite readily and I am appalled!  How can they not see those things?  Why do they behave that way?  And yet, it is just a speck.  Something small and insignificant compared to what is in my eye.

My vision is greatly impaired by the plank, but I am blind to it.  I can only see the speck.  My prayer today is that God will reveal all my planks, name them, call attention to them, so that I can confess them to Him and get rid of them.  Then and only then can I help others.

I’m dealing with planks today.  It will be a busy day.

Song for the day:  “Open My Eyes, That I May See”

I am praying for illumination today, and this is a wonderful hymn to address that.

“Silently now I wait for Thee, ready my God, thy will to see; open my eyes, illumine me, Spirit divine.”

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bigapple0208
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 22:20:31

    Luke 18:9-14 some of my favorite verses right here. The publican who stuck his chest out. I pray the Lord always keeps me humble as well. And reminds of the miry pit that he brought me up out of. Thank the Lord! 🙂 Great blog!

  2. chemocurls
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 14:52:24

    Thanks so much for reading my blog. I like your scripture verses, and I pray for humility as well. God bless. Connie

