Simply Let It Go


Scripture for the day:  Ephesians 4:26-27 “‘Be angry, and do not sin’: do not let the sun go down on your wrath, nor give place to the devil.”

I get angry.  This scripture seems to say “OK, go for it, get mad.” There is a  catch, however.  There is a difference between man’s anger and God’s anger.  If I am a child of God, my anger should reflect Him, not the world or satan.  That is a rather slippery slope.

Abortion angers me.  Does that give me the right to bomb a clinic?  Certainly not!  I must channel my anger into legal avenues.  If someone cuts me off in traffic, should I pull out a gun a shoot them?  Of course not!  God’s anger is not explosive, but controlled, slow, purposeful.  My anger is often not controlled at all.  My words come too quickly, with little thought to their consequence.  They reflect satan, not God.  I am left feeling sorry and wish I could suck them back into my mouth before they reach their intended destination.

My anger often reflects a desire for vengeance, and yet that is not godly.  I must admit I struggle with anger at times.  I don’t like injustice, cruelty, deceit, and on and on.  But I must be careful how I express my dislike lest it become sinful.   I am in prayer about anger today.  May I learn to use it as a tool and not a weapon.

Song for the day:  “Let It Go” by Tenth Avenue North

I think my anger is often simply about control.  I pray that I can let it go.

Chorus:

You say let it go; you say life is waiting for one’s who lose control; you say you will be everything I need; you say if I lose my life it’s then I’ll find my soul; you say let it go.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. momandprophet
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 08:44:50

    Good word, Mom. Anger is a tough one.

  2. http://tinyurl.com/vabibiggs23468
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 06:14:10

    Many thanks for composing “Simply Let It Go ibeatovca”.

    I personallymight undoubtedly be back for more reading through and
    writing comments shortly. Thanks a lot, Florian

