My Will


Scripture for the day: 2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

The sun comes up every morning signaling a new day from God.  A new beginning, and so I start every day by giving it to God.  I ask Him to take my day and make it His:  His goals, His priorities.  Not mine.  I pray that I will die to self before I ever get out of bed and become a new creature in God, ready and able to do His will. It is exciting to see where my day will go.  It is usually full of surprises, opportunities I could never have envisioned when I went to bed the night before.

I’m thinking today of things that limit our possibilities.  Age.  Attitudes.  Words.  I am 69 years old and yet that is not a limitation.  I am still able to serve God.  I think attitudes and words can serve as limitations if we are not careful.  I do not like to hear “we have always done it that way”.  To me that slams the door on possibility.  “I can’t.”  “I won’t!”  Hard to work with those words, too.

I think this scripture from 2 Corinthians challenges us to leave the old ways and thoughts behind.  We are a new creation in Christ!  We have no limits, no restrictions.  My prayer today is that I will truly embrace this new life in Christ and accept any challenges that may come today.  If my thinking is challenged, let me take a second look.  Let me lay down old ways, old ideas and pick up whatever wonderful, beautiful thing He has put in my life today!

If I cannot grow and change, I will become old, outdated, and God will find it hard to use me.  I love being a new creation every day!  It is my hope.  My will.

 Song for the day:  “All Things New” by Steven Curtis Chapman

 www.youtube.com/watch?v=oKx_hx5itIM

 

Comments are closed.

