I Am Blessed


Scripture for the day:  Ecclesiastes 12:1-7

My 70th birthday is fast approaching, and I find it depressing.  It sits on a shelf in the future wrapped in black paper with the word OLD appearing in different scripts all over it.  So today I’m going to take it down and re-wrap it.

My body is aging and cancer/treatment didn’t help slow the process.  BUT . . .

Even though I have neuropathy in my feet, I can still walk.  I can still chase my 4-year-old granddaughter around the yard, shop with my teenage granddaughters, stroll in the woods with my husband, walk in 5K’s on occasion.  I am blessed.

Even though my hands are arthritic and painful, I can still hold hands with my husband.  I can prepare nutritious meals on a daily basis and manage to feed a flock of family on occasion.  I can caress a cheek, rub a shoulder, pat a back, dry a tear.  I am blessed.

Even though my eyesight isn’t great, I can still see the sunrise.  I can still see the beautiful faces of my granddaughters, respond to the joy or sadness written there.  I can read books, cards from friends, emails, an occasional letter.  I am blessed.

Even though my hearing is not what it used to be, I can still hear “I love you”.  I can still hear the chickadees, robins, bluebirds, and, of course, the crows.  I can hear beautiful music, participate in conversations, even with an occasional “pardon?” thrown in from me.  I am blessed.

Even though my memory fails me at times, I can still remember that I am loved by many, adored by a handful, disliked by a few.  I can remember wonderful times spent with family and friends.  Most of all I remember that I am a child of the King.  I am blessed.

So today I am changing the wrapping paper on my 70th birthday!  It will still sit on a shelf in the future, but now it is wrapped in bright green paper with the word BLESSED written all over it.  I like it better.  I am glad I took the time to re-wrap it.

Song for the Day:  “Anyway” by Nicole Nordeman

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ee7SPESCc_Y

My Father calls me beautiful.  He works on remaking me everyday.  He loves me.  Anyway.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce Brecheisen
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 10:12:57

    Awesome devotional testimony! You are beautiful inside and out. I know you will have a wonderful 70th birthday…and I pray a very good year, Connie. Big hugs!

  2. chemocurls
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 10:15:26

    Thanks, Joyce. May God bless your day! Our Abby’s birthday is 2/15, and I’m not sure about plans. I think I will skip the luncheon this year. Hope you enjoy! Big hugs back to you!

  3. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 12:37:34

    Your postive attitude is an inspiration not only to me but to everyone you touch! You are in my prayers lovely lady.

  4. chemocurls
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 12:43:22

    Thank you, Ellie! You are in mine as well. God bless. Connie

    Sent from my iPad

  5. Ellie www.newcreationsministries.wordpress.com/
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 09:43:09

    PS. You certainly don’t look like you’re going to be 70! Must be the JOY in your life of being around grandchildren which keeps you young. (I’m going to do another article on stress soon and even though you’ve been literally to hell and back, God sustains you mightily and no one can get you down for long when He’s your Champion!!!)

  6. chemocurls
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 12:06:56

    So true, Ellie! He sustains me. He challenges me. He keeps me smiling. Life in Him is good, and I thank Him for that. My grandchildren are such a blessing in my life, and they do keep me young. I saw Christmas through the eyes of a 4-year-old. What a joy that was! Their exuberance, energy, laughter make life wonderful. Thank you so much for your comments. I appreciate your reading my blog. God bless. Connie

