Even Me


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 28:18-20 “And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, ‘All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth.  Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.’”

The great commission.  All who call upon the name of Jesus are commissioned into His army to do His work.  We all have a job to do.

I am thinking of an NFL quarterback named Tim Tebow.  He is an amazing young man who boldly speaks the name of Christ.  In all arenas, to all audiences.  He doesn’t seem to get the message about being politically correct and not offending, and I applaud him for that.  He is a role model for many aspiring athletes, and he has a national spotlight.

I have none of that.  I am just a humble housewife in a small town in OK.  And yet I have a job to do!  It matters to God and to His kingdom if I do my job.  I am the only one called to do my job.  Tim Tebow can’t do what I can do, just as I can’t fill his shoes.

And so today I am about my Father’s business.  I am doing what He has called me to do.  I do it with great humility and great joy, for I am a part of His team.  It doesn’t get any better than that, as Tim Tebow well knows.  His NFL days are numbered, but his service to Christ is everlasting.  How amazing is our God and His plan for our lives.  I humbly serve Him today.

 Song for the day:  “A Strange Way to Save the World” by 4Him

www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1iSZi_3s00 

God chose Mary to give birth to His Son.  He chose Joseph to be His father.  Jesus came as a humble person, of lowly estate, not as a king with riches and a throne.  God has chosen me, too!  I am a simple person, no special gifts or attributes, and yet He can use me!  I must be faithful to Him today in all He calls me to do, and I thank Him for the opportunity!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 08:54:06

    Wow excellent observations! Yes we all have been given a customized plan by God and it is up to us to decide to carry it out for He won’t force it upon us. But man, if we do, there will be an enormous blessing – if not here than in eternity! Love posts that make us think, thank you!

  2. chemocurls
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 09:00:11

    Thanks, Ellie.

  3. Joyce Brecheisen
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 12:50:58

    Your devotion today inspired me, as always! You are an encouragement, Connie, to help me become more like Christ! Love you!

  4. chemocurls
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 13:31:51

    Thanks, Joyce!

