Called to Love


Scripture for the day:  Mark 12:30-31 “And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind and with all your strength.  This is the first commandment.  And the second, like it, is this: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.  There shall be no other commandment greater than these.”

The new year has begun.  So far, it is like a pristine wilderness with new-fallen snow.  There are no footprints to mess it up.  It is just clean and fresh, glistening with possibility.  I think the scriptures above are a good way to keep this new year the way God created it.

I am thinking of all the recent tragedies in our world.  Senseless killings of young children and those called to instruct them.  Innocent people shot while attending a movie premier.  Lives destroyed daily by cruel words and actions.  Wars.  The list could go on and on.  This scripture is the answer to the problems of our world.  Simply love God and your fellow-man.  We don’t need another law.  There are already laws on the books against murder, child abuse, etc.  What we have in this country is a heart problem.  We need to allow God to fill our hearts and minds with His love and then shower our world with that love.

My prayer today is that I will love God with all of me:  heart, mind and spirit.  If I do that, I will be able to love my fellow-man.  Sounds simple enough, but it is only January 9.  I can see me now:  stumbling, missing the mark, digging a deep hole, just marring the landscape in general.  My intentions are good.  I really want to live in this verse from Mark.  Lord, help me to do that today.

Song for the day:  “Sweet Hour of Prayer”

 www.youtube.com/watch?v=uQE98DDO6e0

The only way I know to keep this scripture close to my heart is through earnest prayer.  And so I take time now to pray and ask God’s blessing and direction in my life.  He alone can give me peace and help me escape the snare of satan.  He alone can enable me to love.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 09:06:31

    Wonderful thoughtful post. Sometimes when I had a patient who was especially “challenging”, (translate obnoxious and rude) I’d pray “to see them through God’s eyes” and remarkably through Him I could love them still. It’s unfathomable how Christ could die even for the unlovely such as I, as is demonstrated in Romans 5:8. He is so patient and longsuffering with us!

  2. chemocurls
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 09:12:17

    Thank you, Ellie. Oh, for the ability to see others and ourselves as God sees us. Satan often snares us into seeing only the bad in ourselves, not who we are as a child of God. Unfortunately, it is easy to see the bad in others, but there is good in everyone. Oh for the grace to see it. May He bless your day. Connie

