Healing


Scripture for the day:  Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.”

 I see my oncologist this week.  It is routine, something I do every three months.  It is both comforting and disconcerting to go, and it brings back a flood of memories.  I will never become complacent about or comfortable with the trip, the building, the office, the doctor or the exam.  All of it is uncomfortable and unpleasant.  It is also reassuring to hear the words “Everything looks fine.  See you in three months.”  And so I will go, but I will remember who I was four years ago and the One who saw me through.

I love this song “Even If the Healing Doesn’t Come” by Kutless.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=0U_GmFSvwgs

The song reminds me of my journey through diagnosis and treatment.  I prayed for healing and I know many others voiced that same prayer for me.  It was not God’s will for my life.  He had a plan for my life that included pain and suffering.  I like this verse from the song:

Even if the healing doesn’t come

And life falls apart

And dreams are still undone

You are God You are good

Forever faithful One

Even if the healing

Even if the healing doesn’t come

My life did fall apart.  Many dreams were undone, but God was God.  He was good.  He was faithful.  The healing didn’t come when I wanted it to, but it came in God’s time and for His purposes.  I am alive today and much stronger because of the journey.

The scripture from Proverbs is a favorite of mine.  It is the way I deal with adversity.  I lean on God, not my own understanding.  I didn’t understand why I got cancer, why I had to suffer so much and be so sick.  But what I did understand every hour of every day was that God was with me.  He was directing my paths.

He directs me still, and I am so grateful.  I humbly rest in Him today and thank Him for all His blessings.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Overwhelmed By Joy
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 14:49:42

    Praying for a good report today.

  2. chemocurls
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 14:56:21

    Thanks so much, Trish. I’m sure everything will be fine. If not, He will see me through. Connie

  3. Joyce Brecheisen
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 19:28:41

    You are a precious reminder, Connie, of God’s goodness. I do pray for a very healthy and happy 2013 for you, Ron and family.

  4. Ellie
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 19:32:37

    You’ll be my prayers for a great healthy report! Your strength is an inspiration. Happy New Year to you and your family.

  5. chemocurls
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 20:48:25

    Appreciate your prayers, Ellie. May God bless you and yours in the new year. Connie

  6. chemocurls
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 20:50:14

    Yes, Joyce. God is so good. May He bless you, Howard and your family in the coming year. Hope all is well with you. Connie

