Dirty Little Lies


Scripture for the day:  Ephesians 4:25 “Therefore, putting away lying, ‘Let each one of you speak truth with his neighbor,’ for we are members of one another.”

A lie is a conscious and intentional falsehood.  It involves deception and it is deliberate.  My mother taught me not to lie, and yet I did.  It never worked out well for me.  There was the problem of remembering the lie, and I usually had to lie again to cover up the first lie.  It became a devastating spiral of untruths, and I simply had to confess at some point, apologize and set it right.  I would like to say I learned not to do it after the first lie, but I didn’t.

I think the worst lies, however, are the ones we tell ourselves.  We start out trying to justify a thought or behavior to ourselves and think that God won’t know.  Luke 16:15 states otherwise.  God knows my heart.  Mark Twain once said, “You can’t pray a lie.”

I pray today that I will come clean before my Father.  He already knows any lies in my heart, but I must confess them and ask for forgiveness.  Arrogance and pride play a role, too, and I must lay them aside.  I don’t want a dirty little lie to stand between me and a neighbor, a friend, a family member, but I certainly don’t want it to stand between me and God.

Song for the day:  “Remind Me Who I am to You”  by Jason Gray

I love this song!  I forget sometimes who I am to God.  I am His beloved child.  He loves me.  Satan tries to make me forget but this song helps me remember.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSIVjjY8Ou8

 

