Strangers at my Door


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 5:44-45 “But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven, for He makes His sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.”

My mother grew up in the 1920’s.  Times were hard.  Men were out of work, unable to provide basic necessities for their families.  My mother talked about hobos coming to their door asking for food.  My grandmother always had a pot of beans on the stove and leftover biscuits or cornbread, so she would invite them in to sit at the kitchen table and eat.  Sometimes they would ask to do odd jobs to repay her kindness, and there were always plenty of things to be done.

My mother made the best lemon meringue pie, and she said the recipe was from one of the hobos that came to their door.  I never remember her telling me that one of the men stole from their family or disrespected them in any way.  I’m sure they were unshaven with a disheveled look about them, but they were never turned away.

How would I react if someone looking like that showed up at my door?  Would I let them in?  Probably not.  Would I feed them?  Maybe.  At the kitchen table?  Probably not.  But what about the scripture from Matthew?

How do I apply that to my life today?  My mother never locked her door.  She was never afraid.  How different from the way I live and feel.  I am not trusting of strangers.  I am suspicious of the unknown.  Too much evening news about all the bad things that go on in my world?  Or is it because I have never truly been in need.  I have never been hungry, without food or a means to get it.  I have never been without a place to sleep.

Has my heart grown cold?  Am I uncaring, unable to walk in another’s shoes, feel their pain and desperation?  I truly don’t know.  I pray that I am a child of God, full of compassion and love for my fellow-man, but perhaps I am selective.  The answer troubles me today.

Song for the day:  “Above All” by Michael W. Smith

www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjYiEyu8Si8

CHORUS

Crucified

Laid behind a stone

You lived to die

Rejected and alone

Like a rose

Trampled on the ground

You took the fall

And thought of me . . . Above all

Look what Christ did for me.  Help me to die to self and to live to His glory.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. momandprophet
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 08:48:59

    Great blog, Mom. I love that song.

    Loving always requires risk. I was thinking yesterday about how instinctively we run towards our own comfort. There are many ways you step out: going to the free clinic, baking when it might be hard on your feet, playing with Sofie, investing in my girls, loving Dad when it’s not easy. The more we choose God and risk for Him in those little things, the more we magnify how much He risked for us.

  2. chemocurls
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 09:02:14

    Me, too!

  3. Howard Brecheisen
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:36:25

    Connie, this was an extra good devotion today! I remember “ho bo stories” from my mother, also.  May the Lord give us wisdom and discernment today of who to help and when, and to take heed when or if we experience fear and the Holy Spirit speaking to us!  And I just love the song “Above All”!   Love, Joyce

    ________________________________

  4. chemocurls
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:00:58

    I’m glad it blessed you, Joyce! Love that song. Brings a tear every time I hear it. God bless ur day. Love, Connie

