Chocolate


Scripture for the day:  Romans 12:12 “rejoicing in hope, patient in tribulation, continuing steadfastly in prayer;”

Life is meant to savor.  Too often we rush through our days without stopping to relish the moment.

Some days are like a good piece of dark chocolate:  sweet, creamy, delicious, easy to savor.  Other days are like bitter herbs:  difficult to bear, hard to savor.  Life is full of both and we must learn how to handle the bitter with the sweet.

Trials will come.  That is a given, but we do not face them alone.  In the midst of our sorrow or trouble we can rejoice!  Not about the current dilemma but about our eternal hope in Christ.  The present troubles will pass, and our eternity is secure.  It will be better than chocolate.

We must persevere in those dark days and cling to our Father and His promises.  Prayer is the answer!  It can provide comfort, direction and peace during the bitter-herb times of life.  Today is a dark-chocolate day, and I will savor it.  Thank you, Jesus, for the sweet things in life.

 Song for the day:  “Tell It to Jesus”

Being diagnosed with cancer and facing surgery and chemo was a bitter-herb time in my life.  There were times when my family was not available (at 3:00 a.m., for instance) but I definitely needed a friend.  It was at those dark, lonely times that I talked to Jesus.  I could actually feel His presence, His love, His grace.  It was so much sweeter than chocolate.  Words cannot describe it.  You just have to experience it.  I’m so grateful that I have Jesus in my life everyday, but especially for the dark, lonely times.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. annabachinsky
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 10:44:53

    Love this! Sometimes it’s on our darkest and loneliest days that we feel Jesus the closest.

  2. chemocurls
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 11:08:50

    Thanks for reading my blog, Anna! I agree. It is wonderful to have Jesus with us everyday, but His presence in the dark days is especially pleasing. I’m so glad He is my friend. Sounds as though He is your friend, too. God bless. Connie

  3. Joanie
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 05:36:43

    As one who enjoys writing to encourage, I need to be encouraged by others at times. As a lover of chocolate, I appreciate the analogy as well! Thanks for posting!

  4. chemocurls
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 08:03:22

    Thanks so much, Joanie. I appreciate your stopping by to read my blog. God bless. Connie

  5. MustardSeedBudget.wordpress.com
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 20:06:28

    I recommend you hit your own five star vote

  6. chemocurls
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 23:18:51

    Thanks so much for reading my blog today. I really
    appreciate your stopping by. God bless. Connie

  7. MustardSeedBudget.wordpress.com
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 00:53:12

    u r a great encouragement

  8. chemocurls
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 05:51:08

    You encourage me just by stopping by to read my blog! I pray that God will bless you today. Connie

