Creature Comforts


Scripture of the day:  Hebrews 13:16 “But do not forget to do good and to share, for with such sacrifices God is well pleased.”

Brrr!  It’s cold!  We’ve gone from 60’s and 70’s to 30’s and 40’s for daytime highs, and the nights are below freezing.  Time to put another blanket on the bed, get out the warm clothes and have plenty of tea, coffee, hot cider, and hot chocolate on hand.

I’m thinking today of all those who are less fortunate.  What if I didn’t have a warm house, a comfortable bed, warm clothing?  What if my home was a cardboard box under an overpass on the highway?  What if my coat was just a hoodie or sweater?  What if I was hungry and didn’t know where to find food and something warm drink to drink?

My Lord would minister to those in need, and so I must find a way to do that, too.  I can give to John 3:16 mission, the Salvation Army, donate slightly used coats, buy for an angel on a Christmas tree, but it isn’t sacrificial on my part.  I can do all of those things out of my warm house or in my warm coat, and I can feel compassion, but I’ve never walked in their shoes.  I don’t know what it feels like to be cold, hungry or alone.

May my heart be broken today for those less fortunate around me.  May I be the hands and feet of Jesus, ministering when and where I see a need, and give freely of my bounty.  Christmas should be about giving, loving, and serving . . . just like Jesus did.  May I do that as I prepare for Christmas.

 Song for the day:  “Open My Eyes, That I May See”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYjr9CsqHvQ

“Silently now I wait for Thee, ready, my God, thy will to see; open my eyes, illumine me, Spirit divine.”  My prayer is God will show me the lives around me that I can touch, ways I can make a difference, and that He will get the glory and lives will be changed.

 

Comments are closed.

