Aunties


Scripture for the day:  Proverbs 31:25-28 “Strength and honor are her clothing; she shall rejoice in time to come.  She opens her mouth with wisdom, and on her tongue is the law of kindness.  She watches over the ways of her household, and does not eat the bread of idleness.  Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her.”

My parents both came from large families and so I was blessed with lots of aunts.    They served as an extension of my mother, loving me, caring for me, teaching me.

Two of my aunts lived in the same town as my family, and I saw them frequently.  One was tall and stately, the epitome of a southern lady.  She lived in downtown Tulsa in an apartment when I was a child and would babysit for my parents occasionally.  I loved going to spend time with her because she gave me her undivided attention.  She taught me to pick “toe jam” from between my toes, told me stories about trolls that lived under bridges, and made me feel so special and loved.  I decided at an early age that I wanted to be a lady just like my Aunt B.

Another aunt also lived in Tulsa and her house was my second home.  She was so much fun to be around, and we teased each other my whole life.  Ours was a comfortable relationship and we could talk about everything from religion to politics.  I think the topic of boys even came up on occasion.

Several other aunts had a profound influence on my life and shaped me into the woman I am today.  I saw in each of them godly traits.  They were strong, honorable women, ready to help someone in need, not prone to gossip, and hardworking: the Proverbs 31 woman.  I am thanking God today for all of my aunts and the wonderful example they set for me.

Song for the day:  “Sing We Now of Christmas”

My family loved to sing when we were together at Christmas, and this is one of the songs I remember.  We were not always on key and maybe missed a few words, but our hearts were in it!  We were a loud, boisterous lot, full of joy and the spirit of Christmas.  I miss all the commotion that a big family provided, but it is a great memory.

 

Comments are closed.

