The Baby Born at Christmas


Scripture for the day:  Luke 2:11 “Unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, which is Christ the Lord.”

Christmas is a time to celebrate the birth of our Lord, a little baby boy who changed the world for those who choose to follow Him.  The birth of a baby is a joyous time, a time filled with promise and hope.  But not all stories are happy ones.

I’m thinking of a little baby girl named Charlsie Diane.  She was my sister, but I never knew her.  My mother carried her to term but the doctor broke her neck in delivery.  Mother grieved for that baby for the rest of her life.

I missed knowing my older sister, and often wondered what it would have been like to have her in my life.  Would we have been close, shared secrets, conspired against our folks, played dress up, made mud pies together, loved the same collie dog?  I never knew.  All I knew was that every year we decorated Charlsie’s grave with little pink flowers.  My mother chose them with great care and love, for it was all she could do for her baby.

I buy them now and decorate three graves that are side by side.  I picture my mother holding her baby girl while my daddy looks on.  I will join them one day and we will be a family of four.  That sweet day is possible because of the baby born at Christmas.  I celebrate His birth today and say a special prayer for all those who have lost a child.  I’ve never known that pain, but I saw it in my mother’s eyes.

Song for the day:  “Go, Tell It on the Mountain”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEaQKuId9sQ

“. . . and God sent us salvation that blessed Christmas morn.”  I’m thanking God today for sending His Son, that sweet baby born of a virgin who now sits at the right hand of God Almighty!

 

Comments are closed.

