My Parents


Scripture for the day:  Exodus 20:12 “Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long upon the land which the Lord your God is giving you.”

I am thinking of my parents today and honoring them by remembering what special people they were.  They were good to everyone and were quick to try to meet any need they saw.  They were kind, loving, and generous.

Christmas was a time to remember family and friends.  My mother and I started making gifts in the fall, sometimes earlier, and we were finishing gifts in early December.  By creating gifts by hand, we were thinking of the recipients throughout the year.  It wasn’t a last-minute trip to the mall to buy whatever was on sale.  Our gifts were tailored to the individual, usually, and were made with so much love and care.

My parents had a tradition of giving coconut pecan cakes at Christmas.  Every year my mother made 8-10 tiered cakes shaped like trees.  She decorated them with a divinity-type frosting and then covered them in coconut.  She used tiny ornaments to finish them, wrapped them in Saran wrap and had them ready to deliver on Christmas Eve.  She and my dad went from house to house delivering the trees.  It was definitely a labor of love, but it was not easy.  On cloudy days the frosting would not “set” but would be sticky.  My mother would throw it out and start over.  At times she was reduced to tears because the frosting wouldn’t work.  My dad was powerless to help, but I know it bothered him when she was struggling.

They were a great team.  My mother was the behind-the-scenes person, and my dad was the front man.  He took the cakes proudly to the door and usually stayed longer than he should, but my mother sat quietly in the car and never complained.  She loved that trait in him, for it was lacking in her.  My mother was unable to continue the tradition when my dad was killed in a car accident.  She could still bake the cakes, but she couldn’t deliver them, too.  The tradition ended, and I’m sure it was missed by many.

I’m honoring them in my heart today, missing the two people who gave me life and taught me how to live it.  They were a blessing to so many, but especially to me.  I know where they are spending Christmas because they loved Jesus.  That is a comfort but the sadness remains.

Song for the day:  “In the Garden”

This was one of my daddy’s favorite songs, and I always think of him when I hear it.  Because of the wonderful example my parents set for me, I have a relationship with Jesus.  He walks with me, He talks with me, and He tells me I am His.  I am honoring my parents today in my quiet time with God.  I miss them terribly.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terrie van Baarsel
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 09:33:49

    What a beautiful tribute to your parents! They sound like they were lovely people and a great example to you.

    May the Lord comfort you and give you peace until that day when you see them again in heaven.

  2. chemocurls
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 09:36:32

    Thank you, Terrie. Seeing them again will be such a blessing! Another joy of being a Christian. May He bless your day. Connie

