Pet Sins


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 66:18 “If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear.”

Sin is not of the Father, and He cannot look upon it.  It comes from the devil and has no place in the life of a Christian.  But it is there, sneaky, dirty, evil.

Sin is like a festering sore.  It may start as a little cut but bacteria (lies from satan) can turn it into a boiling, teaming mess of poison.  My pastor talks about “pet” sins.  We fail to recognize them for what they are and before long we are doting on them, coddling them, nurturing them.  They may start small but they turn into monsters.

So today I come before my Father confessing sins, big and small.  I humble myself before Him and ask for forgiveness.  I am broken over my sins and I want to recognize them before they turn into pets, or to rearrange the letters:  pests.  I desire communion, fellowship with my Lord, and that is not possible with unconfessed sin in my life.  So I want to come clean of all my sins so my prayers can be heard.  Hear me, Father, cleanse me, restore in me a clean spirit.

Song for the day:  “Christ Receiveth Sinful Men”

I come today confessing my sins to Jesus.  He alone can cleanse me from all unrighteousness and make my life presentable to my Father.  “Purged from every spot and stain, heav’n with Him I enter in.”  That is my humble prayer today:  to be cleansed, made pure, so that Heaven can be my home

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Howard Brecheisen
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 11:23:46

    Amen!  Forgive ME, Father, and make me and mold me after Your likeness.  You are the Potter. I am the clay.  Love you, Joyce

    ________________________________

  2. Chong
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 00:56:34

    hello!,I love your writing very a lot! proportion we communicate more about your article
    on AOL? I require an expert on this space to resolve my problem.
    May be that is you! Taking a look forward to look you.

