The Perfect Gift


Scripture for the day:  John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish but have life everlasting.”

Thanksgiving is history and now we start the mad dash to Christmas.  Time to run to the mall to find the perfect gift for everyone, the one thing that will make their life complete.

Oh, wait!  That Gift has already been given!  No need to rush to the mall.  The one and only gift that anyone needs this Christmas was given by God.  I can’t even come close to what He gave.  And so I will try to avoid the insanity of the season and focus on His unbelievable Gift.  If I can do that, this will truly be a season to celebrate.  I will buy gifts this year, but I will not let that be my focus.  They will bring joy for a moment and then be forgotten.

My prayer today is that my life, my testimony, my joy will be a gift to someone who needs Christ.  May my life reflect the perfect Gift who lives inside of me and may His light shine and fill my life with His love.

Song for the day:  “Near to the Heart of God”

 www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDSDYEGWhKU

That place of quiet rest . . . near to the heart of God . . . that is where I want to spend this season, the next, and the next.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Howard Brecheisen
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 11:21:23

    Absolutely AWESOME devotion for GETTING and KEEPING our focus on JESUS, the REASON for the season!  Love, Joyce

    ________________________________

