Creation


Scripture for the day:  Colossians 1:15-16 “He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation.  For by Him all things were created that are in heaven and that are on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers.  All things were created through Him and for Him.”

 

I am celebrating creation today.   Shafts of light are appearing through the bare trees, and it is very calm and peaceful.  Five deer are eating acorns not ten feet from my door.  Their heads come up and their tails wag if I go out, but they do not run from me.  I do not threaten them, and so they stay.  I have a flock of goldfinch at my feeder.  They are eating quietly but with purpose.  The chickadees and titmice flit to and fro with great urgency.  They seem to be on a mission to eat as much as possible because winter is coming.  A flock of robins is splashing in the bird bath, and some are foraging on the ground.  A flicker disturbs the quiet with his raucous call, and the crows are creating their own distraction.

It is a lovely morning, and I am savoring it.  I know the howling winds of winter are coming but not today.  Snow will pile up in my yard but not today.  I am simply basking in God’s creation, thanking Him for His bounty and beauty.  It is a great day to be alive.

 

Song for the day:  “How Majestic Is Your Name” by Michael W. Smith

 

www.youtube.com/watch?v=6h56LamYqyE

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terrie van Baarsel
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 09:31:58

    Thank you for letting me spend your lovely morning with you. I feel as if I was sitting right next to you. God bless.

  2. chemocurls
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 10:32:56

    God bless you, too! Thanks for stopping by. Connie

    Sent from my iPhone

