If That Isn’t Love . . .


Scripture for the day:  John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

I’ve had some sad times in my life, some hard times, and a few times when I simply felt like giving up.

I had no idea that I would receive a call from my mother saying my daddy was clinging to life in a Tulsa hospital and probably wouldn’t be alive when I got there.  I had no idea that I would be diagnosed with cancer.  I’ve dealt with depression and days when I felt everything was hopeless.  But I had no knowledge that any of those things would happen.  They just occurred and I dealt with them as best I could.

Jesus knew he was leaving His Father to face death on a cross.  He knew He would be sinless but bear the sins of the world.  My sins.  Yours.  And yet He obeyed and set an example that I can never hope to attain.  I’m glad I didn’t know my father was going to die when I was 23.  I’m glad I didn’t know I would face the diagnosis of cancer.  Had I known, I would have lived my life in fear and despair.  God knew this, and He also knows about tomorrow.  He can handle it; I could not.

So today I give thanks for Jesus who knew what He was going to face on earth but came anyway.  He was obedient so that salvation could be mine.  He gave up His life, and I give Him praise, honor and glory today.

Song for the day:  “If That Isn’t Love”

www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Lnakcp3QEw&feature=related

Jesus left the splendor of heaven to face death on a cross for me.

If that isn’t love . . .

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. momandprophet
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 07:06:42

    Good word, Mom!!

