Now


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 6:34 “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things.  Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

 

I am a planner.  I am thinking about what I will fix for Thanksgiving dinner, what I will do on Friday after Thanksgiving, that Saturday, and on and on and on.  I’ve even had a few ideas about Christmas, and that is five weeks away. I also spend some time each day thinking about yesterday, last week, last month.  I dredge up memories of things I wish I had done differently or not done at all.

What I am missing in all of this is the now of my life.  There are a few times when I really savor the moment, try to milk out the last drop of enjoyment.  Those are the good times.  There are also uncomfortable moments that seem to last forever, and I am very glad to see them go.  But I don’t focus on the everyday moments, the mundane seconds, minutes, hours of my life.  I miss them and they are simply gone.

So for now, I am sinking down deep into now.  I am safe, warm, happy, alone with my God.  I like now.  It is a very good place to be.

 

Song for the day:   “It Is Well with My Soul”

 

“When peace, like a river, attendeth my way, when sorrows like sea billows roll; whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, it is well, it is well with my soul.”

I am in the moment with my God, and it is well with my soul.

 

Comments are closed.

