Covered


Scripture for the day:  Ephesians 1:3-6 “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love, having predestined us to adoption as sons by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will, to the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He made us accepted in the Beloved.”

 

My mother made quilts.  She took scraps of material from the clothes she made for us and sewed them together to create something beautiful and functional.  I remember lying in bed at night, feeling safe and warm, nestled in my mother’s love, wrapped in her beautiful quilt.

When I was in the hospital recovering from cancer surgery, a friend made a prayer quilt for me.  It was waiting for me when I got home, and I remember holding it and crying.  It represented the love of family and friends on earth but it also wrapped me in my Savior’s love.  I desperately needed to feel loved at that moment.

On the back of the prayer quilt are scripture verses and in the middle it says:  “The light of God surrounds me, the love of God enfolds me, the power of God protects me, the presence of God watches over me, wherever I am, God is.”

The quilt is folded at the foot of my bed during the day but covers me at night.  It serves as a beautiful reminder of earthly love and God’s grace that covers me.  God knew I could never come to Him because of sin, so He sent His Son to save me.  I am adopted into His family now, saved by the blood of the Lamb, accepted and loved forever by my Father.

Just like the quilts I treasure, God’s grace covers me.  I am His and He is mine.  I am covered.  I am loved.

Song for the day:  “Your Grace Still Amazes Me” by Phillips, Craig and Dean

www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNClAJO2tnQ

I fall to my knees when I hear this beautiful song.  His grace overwhelms me, covers my sin.  It amazes me.  There is no way to repay Him.  I can only offer my praise.  And so, that is what I do today.  I offer Him praise on bended knee for His grace that covers me.

Comments are closed.

