His Way


Scripture for the day:  Hebrews 4:14-16 “Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession.  For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin.  Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

I’ve finished reading Exodus and am amazed at all the plagues:  water becoming blood, frogs, lice, disease, boils, hail.  It seems silly to me that it was so hard to figure out what was happening and Who was in control.  And yet I see the same thing in my life.  I am stubborn and a slow learner at times.  I, too, have failed to see the obvious.

I walked away from God when my father died.  It was not a good thing, and I knew it.  Did I learn from my mistake?  Some, but not enough.  I came back to God but held on to “my way” on many things.  Complete surrender?  Not yet.

God was patient with me for a while but then He got tired of all my “ifs, ands, and buts”.  He allowed the big ugly thing called cancer to enter my life.  It knocked me flat, as He knew it would.  He was with me through the ordeal.  He picked me up, and I arose a new creature in Him.  Finally.  No more ifs, ands, or buts.  I am 100% His, and it is beautiful.  I’ve never known such peace, such joy, such freedom.

My way?  Why?  His way is so much better.

Song for the day:  “I Surrender All”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. momandprophet
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 09:34:29

    Good post, Mom!

