Seasons


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 1:1-3 “Oh, the joys of those who do not follow the advice of the wicked, or stand around with sinners, or join in with mockers.  But they delight in the law of the Lord, meditating on it day and night.  They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season.  Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do.”

I’m glad I live where we have four seasons.  I find things to celebrate about each season but I’m always ready for the next season to arrive.  I plant pansies in the fall and they thrive and bloom all winter.  When the hot days of summer arrive, however, they wither and die.  Okra and tomatoes love the heat of summer but die when we have our first frost.  It is futile to try to grow cool season plants in the summer or plants that like the heat when it is cold.  It won’t work.

Our lives also have seasons, and each one has its own special beauty.  My favorite season of life has to be summer.  Although it is behind me now, I loved the hectic pace, the challenges of raising children, the activity of it all.  I’m in the autumn of my life, with winter fast approaching.  Life has slowed down and I am more of a spectator than a participant.  I am a cheerleader on the sideline, rooting for my family as they play the game of life.

I pray that God will give me blooms and fruit, just as He did when I was young.  May He find work for me to do, a purpose for my life, as I age.  He has been faithful to me through each season.  He will not abandon me now.  Because of Him, I will not wither and die but will bloom again in glory.

Song for the day:  “Precious Lord, Take My Hand”

“Precious Lord, take my hand, lead me on, help me stand–

I am tired, I am weak, I am worn; thro’ the storm, thro’ the night,

lead me on to the light — take my hand, precious Lord, lead me home.”

Comments are closed.

