My Fight with Cancer


You never know when someone

might catch a dream from you.

Or something you say

may open up the windows

of a mind that seeks the light;

The way you live

may not matter at all,

but you never know,

it might.

 

And just in case it could be

that another’s life, through you,

might possibly change for the better

with a better and brighter view,

It seems it might be worth a try

at pointing the way to the right;

Of course, it may not matter at all,

but then again, it might.

 

–Author Unknown

 

I’m going to write about my experience with cancer just in case it might change a life, give someone a dream, create the will to fight.  It may not matter at all, but then again, it might.

I had a seven-month period when I knew something was terribly wrong with my body.  A little voice was screaming at me, “Do something.”  No one else could hear the voice, however.  I saw several doctors, but none spent enough time with me to diagnose the problem.  Several applied Band-aids and sent me on my way.  All the while, the little voice was growing louder.

It’s very hard to fight an unknown foe, and there was a part of me that wanted to believe I just needed another Band-aid.  The problem was getting worse, not better.  People close to me were growing more concerned by the day.  Everyone could see my body was losing the battle, but no one knew the enemy.  It was hard to know what weapon to use, which direction to face to fight, and my strength was waning.

My ordeal started in March of 2008, and finally on October 1, 2008, a CT revealed a problem no Band-aid could fix.  I needed major surgery ASAP.  The wheels on the medical cart turn very slowly, however, and I waited until October 20 for surgery.  At least the foe had a name now, and it wasn’t a pretty one.  Ovarian cancer.  I remember feeling very detached from all of the medical tests and procedures.  Once I knew I had cancer, I simply wanted it out of my body.  Now.

I was mad.  A cell had gone berserk, multiplied, set up its own little kingdom.  There were three cancerous tumors in my body, and they were in the process of killing the host.  Me.

I pictured the tumors as monsters, ravaging my body.  They were laughing, thought they were winning, but I had just begun to fight.  I remembered David and Goliath and felt empowered by the story.  David went into battle armed with just a sling shot.  I was facing a monstrous foe, but I had a wonderful medical team standing with me.  Most of all, God was with me.  I never felt alone.  Terrified, yes.  But never alone.  I held my head up high and walked into battle.  I didn’t know what the outcome would be, but I knew my God was with me.  I simply prayed that His will be done in my life and that He would be glorified.

The battle was ugly, but I won.  I stand against cancer today.  I am on a mission to give women the symptoms of ovarian cancer so that they will know the right questions to ask their doctors.  It is said that ovarian cancer is a silent killer, but it isn’t.  It whispers.  The symptoms are subtle and can easily be mistaken for other problems.  I encourage women to pay attention to their bodies.  If something is wrong, see a doctor.  If that doctor offers only a Band-aid, see another doctor.  Be persistent.  Be your own advocate.

If you are dealing with a cancer diagnosis, I pray this encourages you.  If you know someone who has cancer and think my words might help, please pass this on.

It might not matter at all.  But then again, it might.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce Brecheisen
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 09:55:00

    Connie, this is a wonderful encouraging and true story of faith in the One who created our complex beings. Since you are a Born-Again Christian, you acknowledged that no matter the outcome of your “battle” with cancer, you would be the WINNER! I thank God for you!

