How to Cook a Live Frog


Scripture for the day:  Proverbs 4:23-27 “Keep your heart with all diligence, for out of it spring the issues of life.  Put away from you a deceitful mouth, and put perverse lips far from you.  Let your eyes look straight ahead, and your eyelids look right before you.  Ponder the path of your feet, and let all your ways be established.  Do not turn to the right or the left; remove your foot from evil.”

 I had a very sheltered childhood.  My family didn’t use cuss words, and I remember being quite shocked when I heard them in the main hall of my junior high school.  My mother’s opinion was that you should express yourself without resorting to “foul” language, and she never tolerated cussing.  My mother always correlated what was in the heart with what came out of the mouth.  She also believed the old adage “garbage in; garbage out.”  She was very careful about what I saw and heard as a child.

In the 80’s my husband and I got a VCR for our family.  I was so excited when we rented our first movie.  We fixed popcorn and all gathered around the television, full of anticipation and excitement.  After about five minutes, however, my mood changed drastically!  I was so appalled at the language and sex portrayed in the film that I left the room in disgust.  On my way out of the room, I remember saying “I refuse to have that in my home.”

My daughter posted something on Facebook today that got my attention.  It said:  “Do you know how to cook a live frog?  If you drop it in a pot of hot water, it will jump out.  But if you rest it in tepid water and slowly heat it, the frog’s body will adjust with the rising temperature until it dies.”

My first reaction to the filthy language and sex in the movie was the correct one.  I jumped out of the pot of hot water.  But over the ensuing years, I have become complacent and have rested in tepid water.  I have adjusted to “dirty words”, as my mother called them, and I have accepted vulgar and inappropriate actions.

I think it is time to ponder the path of my feet, examine what is going on in the pot of my life.  Is someone slowly turning up the heat?  Am I losing my edge, my moral compass?  What would my mother say?  I don’t think she would be very pleased, and she would stomp out of the room.

I know my Jesus would go with her.

Song for the day:  Slow Fade by Casting Crowns

 http://www.godtube.com/watch/?v=2EF11NNU

I love this song and the video.  If the little girl at the end of the video doesn’t touch your heart and make you stop and think, you may already be dead.

Comments are closed.

