The Road


Scripture for the day:  Psalm 119:71 “It is good for me that I have been afflicted, that I may learn Your statutes.”

 

Life is a journey.  Sometimes it is a superhighway, 8 lanes, few curves, smooth sailing.  I’m in my shiny red convertible, top down, wind in my hair, sun on my shoulders, purring along without a care in the world.  No real need for God today.  I’m in complete control of my world, and I’m doing just fine.

 

But wait, what is this?  A detour?  How can that be?  This doesn’t look good.  The road is suddenly very narrow, with twists and turns, steep ravines and craggy cliffs.  I have no idea what lies around the next turn, and I am scared.  Suddenly I remember God, and I have a few questions. Where am I?  What is going to happen next?

 

The truth I have discovered is that I always need God.  It doesn’t matter whether I am on an 8-lane divided highway or a narrow mountain road.  The journey is so much better with God.  He knows what lies ahead for me.  The road may be easy or difficult, smooth or rough, but He will guide me along.  I will not fall off into the ravine because He is there to catch me.  It may not be an easy road, but He will make sure I reach my destination.

 

I thank Him today for the detours.  They cause me to turn to God and cling to Him.

 

Song for the day:  “Road to Me Was Long” by Lyndsay Taylor

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Howard Brecheisen
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 17:30:40

    Love your inspirationals, Connie, from the depth of your precious being!  Hugs, Joyce

    ________________________________

  2. convertible wordpress theme
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 12:48:22

    Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is just cool
    and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

