Just Another Lost Cause


Scripture for the day:  Luke 5:31-32 “Jesus answered and said to them, ‘Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick.  I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance.’”

I go to church on Sunday morning and drive by a bar, people in their yards, people walking in the street.  I have on my Sunday clothes and my church face.  I pass them by and go my way.  A few months ago, the song “Jesus, Friend of Sinners” by Casting Crowns played on the radio while I was driving.  I have not been able to get the song out of my mind.  God is using that song to speak to me.  One verse says:

“You love every lost cause

You reach for the outcast,

For the leper and the lame

They’re the reason that You came!

Lord, I was that lost cause,

And I was the outcast

But You died for sinners just like me

A grateful leper at Your feet.”

I have been that lost cause.  I have been the leper at His feet.  I don’t know where I would be today if Jesus hadn’t saved me.  What am I doing to save the lost, to have the heart of Christ?  I have a feeling Jesus would park the car on Sunday morning, never making it to church.  He would talk to people along the way.  He would even go into the bar and talk to folks there.  Not me.  I simply drive on, sanctimonious and smug, on my way to church.  Another line in the song says “The world is on their way to You, but they’re tripping over me.”

Am I an impediment?  Am I a stumbling block?  I think I may be.  Lord, give me Your heart.  Let me love like You do.  Help me remember who I was without You, who I would be today if you hadn’t died for me.

Song for the day:  “Jesus, Friend of Sinners” by Casting Crowns

www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNhz8BMTqsk

Comments are closed.

