The Pity Party


I had a pity party this morning.  It was an impromptu affair, and I had no idea I was to be the hostess.  It was a little disconcerting.  Grumpy and Gloomy came first.  They brought a black-and-gray checkered tablecloth and spread it out on the floor of my heart.  I sat down with them and we started talking.  Next came the Un family.  There was Unhappy, Ungrateful, Unforgiving, and I could see more coming in the distance.  Whiny and Woeful sat down beside me, and I could see Whimper and Sob around the corner.

 

Just when Sad and Somber were getting ready to pour tea, Joy walked in!  Happiness, Gratitude and Delight were coming, too.  They brought the fruit of the Spirit:  Love, Joy, Peace, Longsuffering, Kindness, goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness, and Self-Control. (Galations 5:22-23)

 

Things began to change.  Joy brought a beautiful quilt in addition to the picnic basket filled with the fruit of the spirit.  She spread it out over the one Grumpy and Gloomy had brought, and the mood changed immediately.  There was praise, singing, prayer, and all of the friends of Grumpy and Gloomy started to leave.  They were not happy, and didn’t want any fruit of the spirit.

 

I was glad to see them go.  I had spent too much time hobnobbing with the wrong crowd, being filled with the wrong food.  I must remember to keep Joy’s picnic basket close by for just such occasions, for I never know who might show up at the door of my heart.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. perfectlyuncaged
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 13:56:01

    What an encouraging post!

  2. 1cor1013
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 14:25:31

    There was a contagious element of joy spreading all over this picnic ground all the way to WA state. Praise God.

  3. chemocurls
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 16:27:08

    It had a happy ending! Glad u felt the joy. Love u

    Sent from my iPad

  4. chemocurls
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 16:29:17

    Thank u for reading my post. Glad it encouraged u. God bless. Connie

