For the Beauty


Song for the day:  For the Beauty of the Earth

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpEbQGsPqHE

 

I was standing at my kitchen window this morning listening to this song play softly in the background.  Outside my window were leaves of yellow, gold, green, rust and brown.  A gentle breeze was blowing.  A flock of wild turkeys was scratching around, making their little noises of turkey chatter.  Four deer were grazing under a big post oak tree, a mother, big sister and two fawns.  They are regulars in the yard, and a buck is never far from his harem.  Titmice, chickadees, cardinals and goldfinch were flitting from feeder to feeder, and squirrels were busily gathering nuts for the winter.  It was peaceful, beautiful, reflective.

 

I am taken back four years.  The scene is very different.  I am in a hospital bed, hooked up to lines and tubes, and facing surgery to remove three cancerous tumors.  I am on morphine for pain, and so everything is funny to me.  I don’t remember any of it, but my husband was there for the whole show.  He recalls the time with a smile but a look of concern is there, too.  For in those days, my family didn’t know if they would bring me home again.

 

Jeremiah 29:11 says:  “For I know the thoughts I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

 

I am alive and well today because God had a plan.  His plan was for me to recover and be a witness for Him.  I am alive because it was and is His will for my life.  I have a future and I have a hope . . . in Him.  He alone knows the number of my days, but I will live them praising Him.

 

Enough reflection.  Back to the splendor of this day, the view outside my kitchen window.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. 1cor1013
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 10:57:02

    I so enjoyed seeing in my mind’s eye all those beautiful critters in your backyard & knowing what a blessing and a gift they are to you. I pray strength & joy for you today. The video is so gorgeous.

