I Wanna Live Like That


Scripture for the day:  Psalms 7l: 17-18 “Since my youth, O God, you have taught me, and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds. Even when I am old and gray, do not forsake me, O God, till I declare your power to the next generation, your might to all who are to come.”

 My birthday depressed me this year.  The years are accumulating like snow on a mountain top, and it is hard to see over or around them at times.

My 4-year-old granddaughter, whose birthday was in August, announced to us that she is almost five!  I think that is a great concept, but I am going to count backwards.  Instead of saying I’m 69, I can say I’m almost 68 and so on.  Pretty soon I’ll be 29 and OK with birthdays again.

I think the reason I found this birthday depressing is because I was viewing it from the world’s point of view.  I was picturing poor health, failing eyesight, loss of hearing and the eventual nursing home.  I was on that journey to tomorrow by myself.  God wasn’t beside me, and I was afraid.  In reality, He has always been by my side.  Whether it was the loss of a parent, a diagnosis of cancer, or the multitude of small crises in my life, He was there.  The road has been hard at times, but He did not forsake me.

So, I am OK with birthdays again, but I will do it God’s way.  I will be grateful for each day He gives me, finding the simple joys along the way.  When trials come, I will let Him lead.  For as long as I have life, I can smile and tell the story of what my Savior means to me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GfosSggwQS0

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. momandprophet
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 09:35:48

    Yay, Mom! Some seasons, it is harder to keep that perspective. Thanks for the reminder, and for living the way you do.

