My Hope


Scripture for the day:  Jeremiah 29:11-14 “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.  I will be found by you, says the Lord, and I will bring you back from your captivity; I will gather you from places where I have driven you, to the place from which I cause you to be carried away captive.”

 

Sometimes God wants me to simply wait, and I don’t like it.  But, as this scripture illustrates, it could get worse.  He could cause me to be carried away captive to a strange land and leave me there for 70 years.  I can only imagine my reaction.  I would whine, complain, protest and basically act ugly.  His people wanted teachers and prophets who would tell them pleasant things.  They wanted a “feel good” story, but that wasn’t God’s plan.  He wanted them to carry on with their daily lives, not give up hope and wait for His plan to be carried out.  My life is pretty good, and too often I take it for granted.  So, today I am pausing to thank Him for all he has given me today.  The trees are beautiful, it rained,  and a gentle breeze is blowing.  I am alive and well and He loves me.  He has a plan for my life.  And so I celebrate today and have great hope.

 

Song for the day:  “In You Alone” by Kim Hill

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkOsovM3e-M

 

Nothing can defeat me if I know where You are.  You are my only hope, my heart’s resting place.  Nothing can separate me from you.  What a great promise!

I rest in this great song today.

 

Comments are closed.

