Shellac


Scripture for the day:  2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

My husband and I built our home about 35 years ago.  It was a labor of love for both of us, and it has served us well.  We worked together as a team, and maybe that was my favorite part.  He built and I painted, stained and decorated.

I stained all of the woodwork and then put shellac on the pieces.  He thinned the shellac so that I applied a very thin coat.  I would then rub it with fine steel wool and repeat the process, over and over and over.  The result was a warm patina, a soft glow from the wood, with the grain and individuality of each piece showing through.  It was a slow process but we were both pleased with the result.

The nice thing about a shellac finish is that it can be repaired.  If the wood becomes gouged or marred, you can start over, repeating the process until it is like new.

Our lives are much like the trim in our home.  They can be “finished” the world’s way: quick, easy, “my” way; or they can be “finished” God’s way:  slow, painstaking, deliberate.  I prefer to let God work on the trim in my life.  He can take all the imperfections, scars, and ugliness and make them disappear.

When I accepted Christ, my sins were rubbed away.  The trim in my life was made new, the old sins forgiven, gone.  Sometimes my trim still gets messed up, and the process has to be repeated.  Through the application of God’s word and the work of the Holy Spirit in my life, the trim can be rubbed smooth once more so that the Light can shine.

I much prefer God’s way.

Song for the day:  “All Things New” by Steven Curtis Chapman

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. momandprophet
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 08:19:05

    This reminds me of a sermon we heard last Sunday…rather have slow-roasted Christians than microwave ones. Both are hot, but the slow-roasted has flavor.

