Solid Rock or Sinking Sand?


Scripture for the day:  Hebrews 13:8 “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.”

 

My life is full of turmoil and change.  Today is different from yesterday, and tomorrow will be different still.  I am amazed at all the changes I have seen in my sixty-plus years on this earth!  I remember a black phone that hung on the wall when I was a child.  We were on an 8-party line, and so we had our own “ring”.  We ignored all the other rings because they weren’t for us.  Now I have a “smart phone” that fits comfortably in my hand or my purse, and I take it everywhere with me.  It has my life on it, and I would be lost without it!  I remember our first television:  huge box, small screen, black and white image.  Now our TV is actually a computer and it produces the television feed on a monitor.  It works, and I am glad.  But I don’t have a clue how it works.  I just sit and watch it occasionally.  All of this change is unsettling at times, but I try to embrace it.  What I am very thankful for, however, is Jesus.  He never changes.  He does not lie to me or change His character.  His response to any given behavior may be different, but that is only because He knows the plan for my life.  What was right for me a year ago may not be right for me now.  And so today I thank Him for His constancy, His love, His steadfastness in my life.  Without Him, I would simply be awash in a sea of uncertainty.

 

Song for the day:  “On Christ the Solid Rock”

 

I stand on Jesus’ blood and righteousness and His unchanging grace.  I am safe and secure in Him!  He is my Rock and I can cling to Him when the storms of life assail me.  Praise Him!

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. morningstoryanddilbert
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 06:35:41

    Amen!!!! Great Post!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  2. chemocurls
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 07:19:33

    Thanks, Kenny. I look forward to starting each day with your blog and a cup of tea. Keep up the good work! Connie

    Sent from my iPhone

