7×70


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 18:21-22 “Then Peter came to Him and said, ‘Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him?  Up to seven times?’  Jesus said to him, ‘I do not say to you, up to seven times, but up to seventy times seven.”

 

Oh my.  That’s a bunch!  I thought Peter was being very generous in his offer of seven times, but he wasn’t even close.  If it had been me, my response would have been “but, Lord, . . .”  Relationships are hard, especially the long-term ones.  I can be pretty nice to the clerk at Walmart.  I can even be nice to the same clerk for two weeks in a row.  But it is the long-term relationships that cause problems.  I remember all the past grievances and I keep score.  “Well, you did that last year and I forgave you.  This year, I’m not so sure.  What were you thinking???”  And then I remember Calvary.  Christ hung on a cross for me.  He took my sins and ask His Father to forgive me.  How can I not forgive others?  Only by forgiving can we experience healing.  Holding on to past wrongs only hurts us.  Seventy times seven?  I must admit I struggle.  My prayer for today is that I will forgive others again and again, if necessary, and do it with a glad heart.

 

Song for the day:  “7×70” by Chris August

 

“7×70 I’ll do what it takes to make it right.  I thought the pain was here to stay but forgiveness made a way.”  Beautiful song.  Here’s a link if you want to listen:

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtX0cBejwBc

 

Comments are closed.

