The Little Child


Scripture for the day:  Matthew 18:2-6  “Then Jesus called a little child to Him, set him in the midst of them, and said, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven.  Therefore whoever humbles himself as this little child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.  Whoever receives one little child like this in My name receives Me.  Whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in Me to sin, it would be better for him if a millstone were hung around his neck, and he were drowned in the depth of the sea.’”

 

I had a wonderful childhood.  I not only had parents who loved me, but countless aunts, uncles, cousins, and grandparents.  I thought every child lived in the same kind of home that I did.  I found out later that was not the case.  It is much worse today.  The statistics are grim and I will only quote a few.  One in every three little girls is sexually abused before her 18th birthday, and one of every six little boys.  Fifty percent of the human trafficking victims are minors.  Fourteen million adolescent girls give birth each year, and they are five times more likely to die during pregnancy.  These numbers are staggering, and they break my heart.  I have sponsored a girl from Tanzania since 2001 through Compassion.  I have seen her grow during that time not only physically but in her love for the Lord.  It has been a blessing for me to sponsor her, and I pray that my gifts have made a difference in her life.  I know she has made a difference in mine.  C.S. Lewis wrote, “Evil can be undone but it cannot ‘develop’ into good.  Time does not heal it.  The spell must be unwound, bit by bit.”  My prayer today is for children everywhere who are victims of abuse.  I pray that they will feel God’s presence in their lives and I also pray for a change of heart in the abuser.  Although we can’t undo the abuse, I hope that our prayers, our churches, our intervention can help the victims heal, bit by bit.  My heart is truly broken.

 

Song for the day:  “Jesus Loves the Little Children”

 

Another song from Vacation Bible School!  “Red or yellow, black or white, they are precious in His sight.  Jesus loves the little children of the world!”

 

Comments are closed.

