Inner Beauty


Scripture for the day:  1 Peter 3:3-4  “Do not let your adornment be merely outward–arranging the hair, wearing gold, or putting on fine apparel–rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God.”

 

I’m thinking about cancer patients today.  Here is a beautiful link if you want to check it out. http://www.cnn.com/2011/09/30/health/terri-shaver-breast-cancer-photographer/index.html

 

It talks about how women who are diagnosed with cancer feel about themselves as they undergo cancer diagnosis and treatment.  It reduced me to tears because four years ago I was walking that road.  I remember looking in the mirror and not recognizing that bald, emaciated person who stared back at me.  I didn’t like her; didn’t know who she was; and I didn’t want to see her.  The person I had been for 65 years was simply gone.  So instead of looking at my image in the mirror I looked up.  There I saw the outstretched arms of a Savior who loved me.  He saw past my bony frame and saw the person inside.  Through His love and acceptance, I was able to ignore the person I had become and be grateful for the person I was inside.  Jesus was changing me, day by day, and I liked the person I was becoming.  I was becoming more beautiful, not by the world’s standards, but by my Father’s standards.  My hair has grown back, I have gained weight, but I have not forgotten.  My focus is still on the person inside, not the person the world cares about.  And so my prayer today is for all of those facing the beast called cancer.  May they, too, look up and accept that which is freely given.  If they do, they not only will survive the diagnosis and treatment, but they will find what matters . . . living for Christ.  I pray that I will be a beacon of hope for them simply because I have survived.  I pray for a gentle, quiet spirit that will reflect my Lord, Jesus Christ, for then will I be truly beautiful.

 

Song for the day:  “Satisfied with Jesus”

 

I am satisfied with Jesus.  He has done so much for me.  But as I think of Calvary, I wonder . . . is my Jesus satisfied with me?

 

Comments are closed.

