The Cross


Scripture for the day:  1 Corinthians 1:18 “For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.”

 

The cross represents a choice:  salvation or destruction.  The cross was at first between God and His Son, but because of salvation, it now involves us.  Jesus died on the cross for me, for you, while we were still sinners.  He pleaded with the Father to forgive us.  He suffered and died for me, and yet I must follow Him there daily.  I must choose to die to arrogance, pride, jealousy, lust, and the cross isn’t a very pretty place.  Why would I follow Christ there?  It is a place of death and suffering, but we must go there as Christians.  I was diagnosed with cancer four years ago.  God brought me to a place of nothingness.  I was emptied of self, all feelings of competence, even worth.  He took my nothingness and created something beautiful.  He gave me new power, new hope, new life.  I praise Him for that, but it would not have happened without the cross.  I came to have more of His love, more of His peace, more of His joy and more of His power in my life.  But first I had to suffer.  I had to go to the cross.

 

Song for the day:  “Lead Me to the Cross”, Hillsong United

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdq9Q8wJdjc&feature=related

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. morningstoryanddilbert
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 16:00:11

    The Post is a Blessing 🙂 Take Care Kenny T

  2. chemocurls
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 19:30:31

    Thanks, Kenny. Connie

