The Lord’s Army


Scripture for the day:  Ephesians 6:12-16 “For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.  Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.  Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one.”

 

I believe in angels and I believe in demons.  I have experienced both, and I much prefer angels.  As Christians, we are often assailed by evil.  It is ever-present in our lives, and we must stand strong against it.  How do we do that?  God has equipped us for battle!  We do not stand alone or under our power.  Our Lord has given us the armor of His righteousness.  We have the truth of His Word, the power of our testimony and of prayer.  Nothing is more powerful than the Bible, and so I pray that the words will sink deep into me today, making them available to sling at the enemy.  We also have the power of our testimony.  Simply telling others what God has done in our lives is a powerful weapon.  The world of darkness doesn’t like to hear about it because it glorifies God.  I pray that I will use the weapon of testimony when needed, sharing the wonderful joy of what God has done in my life.  And, last, but not least is prayer.  I pray that I will be faithful to lift my brothers and sisters in Christ to our Lord in prayer.  We don’t know what others may be facing, so we need to lift each other to God in prayer.  I pray that I will be a good warrior today.  God has given me powerful weapons.  It is up to me to use them effectively to defeat this mighty foe.

 

Song for the day:  “I’m in the Lord’s Army”

Too many years of Vacation Bible School!  This had to be the song for the day.  I remember the enthusiastic voices of children singing to the top of their lungs!  Such joy!  Great enthusiasm!  I pray that I will sing this song today as I go do battle for my King.

Lyrics:

I may never march in the Infantry, Ride in the cavalry, Shoot the artillery. I may never zoom o’er the enemy, But I’m in the Lord’s Army, (yes, sir!)  (Doing the actions are optional but great fun!)

 

Comments are closed.

