“Angel” Ed, My Pastor


Scripture for the day:  2 Timothy 4:2-4 “Preach the word!  Be ready in season and out of season.  Convince, rebuke, exhort, with all longsuffering and teaching.  For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine but according to their own desires, because they have itching ears, they will heap up for themselves teachers; and they will turn their ears away from the truth, and be turned aside to fables.”  

 

Relevance is defined as being capable of making a difference in an assessment of a problem, condition, or event.  The Bible is as relevant today as it was when it was written.  Within its pages, lies the answer to any question, the solution to any problem, the hope for any condition.  Unfortunately, too many preachers are straying from sound doctrine because it is not popular.  I am blessed to have a pastor who believes in and preaches the Word.  It is relevant.  It guides me.  It blesses me.  I am so grateful to have the Bible to open and reveal God’s truth to me.  Relevance in the world is fleeting at best.  What is relevant today is meaningless tomorrow.  It is a sign of the times that so many in our churches are turning away from the truth and wanting fantasy instead.  Too many “feel good” sermons leave those in the pews feeling that all is well.  I think we need to be convicted of our sins on a regular basis so that we can correct them before they multiply like rabbits.  I am thankful for a pastor who speaks the truth and forces me to be accountable to my Father.

Song for the day:  “Take Time to Be Holy”

 

I pray that I will take time to seek God, to feed on His Word so that I may be fit to be called His child, be fit to be in His service.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dale Copeland
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 13:54:55

    Amen! Pastor Ed Gorden is a blessing and true example of servant leadership.

  2. chemocurls
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 14:22:05

    We are truly blessed to have him as our pastor. We also have some fine deacons, Dale!

