Bubbles!


Scripture for the day:  John 6:35  “And Jesus said to them, ‘I am the bread of life.  He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst’.”

 

I love to make bread.  All kinds of bread:  biscuits, pumpkin bread, yeast rolls, pizza dough.  I love the process and I love the end-result, the wonderful smell and the eating!  Good bread depends on many variables.  The proper ingredients must be used in the right proportions, the heat must be right, etc.  When you make yeast bread, you “proof” the yeast.  You simply take warm water and add honey or sugar along with the yeast, stir slightly and watch it start to work.  Before long, if the yeast is viable, the whole mixture starts to move.  It expands and becomes very active.  It reminds me of the way God works in our lives.  He takes very simple ingredients, adds a catalyst and watches the wonderful work begin.  But, again, all the variables must be right.  If the yeast isn’t viable, nothing will work.  You will end up just where you started, with simple ingredients, but no action.  My prayer today is for the lost, the ones where the yeast isn’t viable and nothing works right.  I pray that the Holy Spirit will convict them of their condition, cause them to turn from their sin and accept Christ.  If they do, bubbles will form!  Their lives will be transformed into a living, moving thing and nothing will ever be the same!  If they don’t change, however, there will be no bubbles, no action, no life.  They will just be a body of simple ingredients lacking the catalyst for change.

I want to be a nice warm loaf of bread!  I want my life to reflect the One who lives in me and feeds me daily so I can grow and feed others.

 

Song for the day:  “Break Thou the Bread of Life”

 

Comments are closed.

